FAQs

Answers to all your CCW / CHL Questions

How old do I have to be for the Ohio Concealed Handgun License?

You must be 21 years of age.

How old do I have to be to take GunIQ’s CHL training?

12 years of age with a parent or guardian (no certificate)
18-20 years of age (with certificate)
If you’re under 21, you must train with our guns.

Do I have to have my own gun?

No. For $25, we provide everything, including ammo.

Should I buy a gun before coming to class?

No. If you don’t already have one, you’ll learn a lot and make a better choice after the class.

Do I have to register for the class in advance?

It’s certainly a good idea, but not absolutely necessary. We accept walk-ins if there are seats left in the class. Many classes sell out. Please don’t call on the morning of class to find out. We’re busy prepping for the class.

How can we contact GunIQ?

Call: 216.990.6110
Email: PewPew@GunIQ.training

How are GunIQ’s instructors qualified to teach the concealed handgun license class?

Our instructors are NRA certified.

Do GunIQ’s instructors have credentials beyond the NRA?

Our instructors must have three years of military service or have three years experience as a police officer. We may make exceptions for someone with significant and documented firearms training.

Does GunIQ teach firearms law?

Yes. Our chief instructor is both a 22-year infantry officer and an Ohio attorney.

Do you recommend particular guns for concealed carry?

We will always tailor our recommendations once we get to know you. Without knowing anything, we recommend:

Glock 43 (single stack)
Smith & Wesson M&P Shield (9mm, single stack)
Springfield XD Mod 2 9mm 3” barrel (double stack)

Why should we take GunIQ’s class?

First, please read our reviews. They are great because we work our tails off. Second, our instruction is high energy, thorough, and interesting. Third, we provide you with substantial training on the law, designed by our chief instructor who is a lawyer. Last, read our reviews. Seriously. There are 150 of them here!

Who can tell me how to get the concealed handgun license?

We will tell you at the class or you can click here for more information.

Is there a background check for the license?

Yes. It is done by the Sheriff at the time of the application. In Ohio, a call is made to the FBI in West Virginia. The FBI’s call center is open 20 hours a day, 364 days a year. The answer is usually provided in seconds.

How long does it take to get the license?

From days to weeks, depending on the county. Make an appointment for the license as soon as you schedule your CHL class date with us. That will speed things up. Usually, Lake County and Portage County are the fastest. You can go to the Sheriff in the county in which you live, or to a Sheriff in a county that is adjacent to your county of residence.

How much is the license?

$67 if you’ve lived in Ohio for 5 years
$91 if less than 5 years

How long is the license valid?

The license is valid for 5 years.

Do I have to attend the educational training again every year or when I renew?

No you do not.

I was in the military. Do I need the training?

Not if you were discharged in the last ten years. We recommend you take the training; however, unless you were trained in the use of a handgun. (Most are not.)

Is there a fee to renew?

The fee to renew is $50.

Do I need to prepare for the CHL class?

No. We begin the class presuming that everyone knows nothing. Sorry, it’s largely necessary due to the state training requirement. If you want to read something, read the NRA’s Basics of Pistol Shooting. If you’re nervous about shooting, call us and arrange a private lesson in advance of your class.

What should I bring to the CHL class? (All of the below is optional.)

Firearm (.22 to .10mm)
50 rounds of ammunition
Ear protection
Eye protection (eye glasses will usually be accepted)
Snacks
Something to drink
Small notebook and pen or pencil

How do I transport my weapon before I have my CHL?

Put the UNLOADED weapon in a bag or case that closes. Put ammunition in a different bag or case that closes. Put both bags or cases in the trunk, or as far away from the driver as reasonably possible if you don’t have a trunk.

Do you have any unanswered questions? Contact Us.